Visit
Kids Love It!!
Learn
Research
Support
About Us
Explore Local History
Calendar
 Carriage House
 
A wing of our Victorian Home, this space houses our exhibition galleries, library and archives, collection storage, and offices as well as the internationally renowned Lenoir Model Railroad Collection.

Each year, we feature a changing exhibition that tells the stories of Cedar Falls.


 
2014 Exhibition:
Before William Sturgis...

Explore the river valley in the time before William Sturgis and his family settled on the banks of the Red Cedar River in 1845. Learn about the history and culture of the Ioway, Sauk, and Meskwaki who inhabited this area. Beadwork, pottery, accessories, everyday tools, and natural artifacts bring the stories of the valley to life. Families will especially enjoy the 1/4-scale wickiup replica and hand-on crafts and activities.

Special programs throughout the year will feature traditional skills and native plants, the prairie ecosystem, Oneota archeology, a flint knapping demonstration, and a family storytime.

The exhibition will be on display through December 7, 2014.

See our events page for more information about program dates and times.


 
308 W 3rd St, Cedar Falls
  • Tuesdays-Saturdays, 10-4
  • Sundays, 1-4

Our volunteers serve as hosts at the home on the weekends, and you may want to call in advance to confirm that we are open: 319-266-5149.

Free admission; donations gladly accepted.
 

 
© 2014 Copyright  Cedar Falls Historical Society

308 West 3rd Street, Cedar Falls, IA 50613 (319) 266-5149  Email: cfhistory@cfu.net

Web Design and Custom CMS by Vision Media Services, Inc.

Funding for site provided by the Cedar Falls Tourism and Visitors Bureau